Me, Myself & Baby I

Out of the mouths of babes

It’s My Birthday & I’m Giving You Discounted Seats to Rapture,Blister, Burn

Birthdays are so different as an adult than as a kid.  While I try not to lose sleep over aging another year, (I did as a child because I was so giddy with excitement for my special day) I do embrace birthdays and think they are meant to be celebrated with family and friends.

My sister gave me a fantastic birthday present by baby-sitting for her nephew on Saturday night while my husband and I went to see Burn, Rapture, Bliss (the front row, center tickets were a birthday gift from the fabulous MamaDrama)  Ian is too young to take advantage of the childcare provided by  Playtime!  .

After grad school, Catherine (Amy Brenneman) and Gwen (Kellie Overbey) chose polar opposite paths. Catherine built a career as a rockstar academic, while Gwen built a home with her husband and children. Decades later, unfulfilled in polar opposite ways, each woman covets the other’s life, commencing a dangerous game of musical chairs – the prize being Gwen’s husband (Lee Tergesen).  With searing insight and trademark wit, Gina Gionfriddo’s comedy is an unflinching look at gender politics in the wake of 20th century feminist ideals.

The five actor ensemble was incredible.  Avery’s quick-wit and unexpected funny remarks made her my favorite character.  (“If I wind up in Mommy & Me classes after the thousands of dollars spent on my education, it will piss my parents off…”)  My husband was impressed with actress Beth Nixon who played Catherine’s senior citizen mother Alice.  I couldn’t believe that we were merely inches away from TV star Amy Brenneman who was often barefoot (I could actually see her toe nail polish which matched her well-manicured nails) and even stripped all the way down to her bra and panties in one scene.  Wait till I tell my mom who watched her on Judging Amy.

Some of the issues the play explores include:

  • Where do you go after being a housewife?
  • Can you hire someone to create a home for you?  Or is nesting something you can’t outsource?
  • Is an open door permission to steal?
  • Does the man have to lead and the female follow?  In a relationship, you can’t both go first.  How do you deal with 50/50 and compromise?
  • What happens when you romanticize economic dependence?  Can a family be happy without money?
  • Is it easier for a woman to be driven when she doesn’t have any attachments?
  • How do you make up for a life misspent?

While the grass is always greener, this play reaffirms that I don’t want to trade lives with anyone, including former roommates.

Hurry and get your tickets because the show closes on June 24, 2012.  Order at https://ticketcentral.com/Online/ by tomorrow, June 5 with code PLAYRBBlog and save $20 per ticket ($50 instead of $70)

I’m going to keep celebrating my birthday!!!!!  I have some more cake to eat.  Calories don’t count when it’s your birthday!

last year’s birthday cake at ABC Kitchen

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “It’s My Birthday & I’m Giving You Discounted Seats to Rapture,Blister, Burn

  1. Rapture, Blister, Burn sounds like a must-see, with insights into the issues that we as moms grapple with. Thanks for sharing, and have a wonderful birthday!

Leave a Reply

