Me, Myself & Baby I

Out of the mouths of babes

Lainie of Leisure at The Spa at Norwich Inn

Spring break may be behind us but I am going to try my best to remain as relaxed, refreshed and happy as I was last week while alone with my family in Connecticut.

For me, trips are all about delicious food, fabulous accommodations and shopping. We didn’t do well in terms of antiquing in the Litchfield Hills area so after playing one last time in Coco Key’s arcade, we hit the road.

Since we weren’t in a hurry to get to The Spa at Norwich Inn where we’d be staying for the last 3 nights of our spring break, we detoured to Tanger Outlets in Westbrook and Clinton Crossing. So happy we did! (Although Scott received a call from the fraud department of his credit card since they were concerned about all the spending that was being done!)

After checking in at The Norwich Inn, we enjoyed unwinding at a delicious dinner at Ascot Pub. Scott and I shared the signature cheese board (along with Ian), a chopped salad and a charcoal build a burger.

The evening ended on a high note when I spotted Partida Tequila at the bar. I spoke to the bartender about how I handled the PR for Partida, launched the brand and shared my experience of visiting the distillery in Guadalajara.

Day 2:

Everyone needs a spa day. I used to treat myself to an annual birthday massage but haven’t since I was pregnant with Ian three years ago. After my blissful massage, we drove to Mystic, Connecticut. Mystic Village reminded me a lot of the quaint Peddler’s Village (located in Historic Bucks County, Pennsylvania)

I still can’t get over how delicious and cheap our seafood lunch was at 10 Clams (everything is priced $10 clams or less) It rates up there as one of the best bowls of thick and creamy lobster bisque and the lobster roll was piled high with succulent pieces of lobster. Luke’s Lobster rolls no longer impress me.

We shopped, drove around the Mystic area and oohed and ahhed over the New England homes. That evening we enjoyed yet another fabulous dinner at our hotel this time at Kensington’s. As posted on their website, Kensington’s “offers a comfortable atmosphere, impeccable service, and unforgettable food” and I couldn’t agree more.

I am so happy we ordered the special salmon dish. Ian wasn’t really in the mood to stay put in the restaurant that night so I had to gulp down the food and go back up to the room with him without even finishing my glass of wine. He was an angel the rest of the week so I can not complain, especially since he’s a two and a half year old.

Day 3:

I kicked off the day with a facial and then we drove for lunch at The Golden Lamb Buttery in Brooklyn, CT. Separate review to follow soon.

We tried to do some more antiquing but mostly struck out with finding treasures this trip. That evening (our last of the trip) we decided to do room service since Ian had been such a great boy at lunch and we didn’t feel it was fair to subject him to another restaurant again only hours later. I insisted we build another burger, along with more soup and salad.

Clearly the song for the last leg of our trip was Yo Gabba Gabba’s “There’s a Party in My Tummy.”

As I packed up our bags to leave The Spa at Norwich Inn, I thought, “Bye, bye Connecticut. I will miss the morning (tea) seep, steam/sauna and (jacuzzi) soak followed by delicious seafood and lots of shopping! Ahhh!”

Huge thank you to Scott for making this trip possible. I never thought a Spring Break in Connecticut could be as awesome as the Caribbean. It really hit all of our family’s wants and needs. I am still amazed at how much wonderful stuff there is to do in Connecticut. I am so happy I discovered some of these gems with my two boys by my side. Let’s do it again next year! Easter at Winvian, for sure!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Lainie of Leisure at The Spa at Norwich Inn

  1. Gino Colangelo on said:

    Nice to get a weekend away! Hope you’re well. Gino

Leave a Reply

