Me, Myself & Baby I

Out of the mouths of babes

Another Piece of My Heart (Book Review)

“The problem with heartbreakers, she thinks, is that they break hearts.” (page 358)

Jane Green became a favorite author of mine well over a decade again when I hungrily wolfed down her early chick-lit, including favorites Mr. Maybe and Jemima J.

Her latest, Another Piece of My Heart, was released on Tuesday, March 20th. It’s being described as “Green’s most emotional and powerful novel yet: a story that explores the complications of a woman marrying into a ready-made family, and the true meaning of motherhood.”

I picked it up only hours of finishing 50 Shades of Grey. Reading Green’s prose is super easy for me. It speaks to me like an old friend. I immediately became engrossed in Andi’s story. I will admit though that after reading a few chapters, I was itching for something more drastic or exciting to occur. Finally around 100 pages in, my wish was granted.

“This is the mothering that no one told her about, no one had warned her about. She thought it would all be hearts and flowers, she and a darling child, laughing and loving, and sharing moments of bliss…No one warned her of the exhaustion…”

I promise not to give anything away. In fact, I was hesitant to read other write-ups and reviews until I finished reading the novel for fear of any plot spoilers. This line adequately sums it up without revealing much: “life, children, domesticity have gotten in the way.” (page 173)

There’s always two sides to every story….and then there’s the truth. I commend Green for providing both Andi and Emily’s perspectives.

Another Piece of My Heart, which is currently #16 on the New York Times Best Sellers List, explores family dynamics, jealousy, addiction, destruction, drama, transformation, adoption, step-families, selfishness, being selfless, growing up and the fine line between love and hate.

I recommend finding some “ME” time to curl up and read this book. It might make you appreciate your own life more and remind you that nothing remains the same and you never know what life has in store for you.

“I limit myself to those fantasies twice a week. Weekends only. A forbidden, but delicious treat.” (page 341) “Fantasies aren’t reality.” (page 364)

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

