Me, Myself & Baby I

Out of the mouths of babes

Parent Service Announcement (PSA): Rated P is a Must-See

I am not a lover of the Great White Way and generally detest musicals.  However, as a mom of a two year old, I did jump at the chance when Erin Leigh Peck of MamaDrama, a new parent-marketing consulting agency, graciously extended me a pair of complimentary tickets to see Rated P.  The invitation even came with childcare while I enjoyed the show right near by at Playwrights Horizons but children need to be at least 4 years of age so I was not able to take advantage of PLAYTIME‘s incredibly wonderful service.

So now on to the show:

Rated P is for Parenthood.  And as I parent, I am of the authority to rate it Perfect, Pretty spot on, and Pleasantly Pleasing.

As soon as I sat down in the packed theater, I knew I was in for a treat.  Prior to the show starting, amusing family-oriented quotes and trivia is provided.  Throughout the performance, they show a couple’s texting back and forth (and sometimes even trying to sext).

I give you permission to skip the child-birth and/or lamaze classes (this coming from someone who endured natural delivery).  Instead, it should be a requirement for pregnant couples to see this show to get a sneak peek of what’s in store for them in the next 18 years.    While in today’s society so much focus and attention is given to fertility, conception and pregnancy, it’s after the baby is born when THE HARD PART STARTS.  The underlying message of the show is that letting go is what growing up and good parenting is all about.

Some of my favorite skits include when the baby is going to be left with the grandparents for the first time, two Dads at the playground looking to make a new buddy, the prestigious private school admisison interview, the first day of kindergarden, and Prom night.  As you can see, each stage of childhood is addressed.

I also got a chuckle out of the Parent Service Announcements (PSAs) including don’t fix-up the happy bachelor.

It’s only natural that a show about babies tackles the “birds and the bees.”  There is a funny scene on trying to explain to the older child how a baby gets in mommy’s tummy.  The dad sings about “getting some” after he drops his kids off at a sleep-away camp.  Mom is distraught after finding a condom in her teenage daughter’s jean pocket while during the laundry.  And how would you tell your innocent, sweet child what “69” means?

When the drop the child off at college, the mom explains, “A lifetime of memories are written on the face of my child.”

I was extremely happy that there was no intermission during the 70 minute performance (although pregnant women in the audience might disagree!)

I hope I’ve convinced you to go see Rated P is for Parenthood and I am excited to share this parenthood insider discount:  $49.50 ticket offer for performances through May 27, 2012 at BroadwayOffers.com or by calling 212.947.8844 (USE CODE:  RPTHX88)

“Rated P for Parenthood” is at the Westside Theater, 407 West 43rd Street.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

